Moyvane Notes – 13th April, 2010

Marian Hall Blotto:
There was no winner of last week’s Jackpot. Numbers drawn were 1   11   12   19. Lucky Dips: €100 Margaret O’Sullivan, Ballybunion. €50 Michael Flaherty, Woodgrove. €20 each: Paul Evans, Listowel. K. Sheehy, Diagh. Mary Fitzmaurice, Leitrim Middle. Marie Lynch, Ashgrove, Moyvane. Kieran Healy, Listowel. Free Tickets: Ger Tierney, Woodgrove. Helen Monaghan, Bruach na Gaile. Francis Thornton, Kilbaha. Baby Mike McCarthy, Ash Grove, Listowel. Ned Fitz, Moyvane. Jackpot this week: €8,000.

Moyvane GAA: 
Results: Moyvane seniors lost out to Tarbert in the qualifying round of the Novice/Junior Club Championship on Saturday last on a final score of Tarbert 1-15, Moyvane 0-6.  Team and Scorers: Chris Foley, Mike Woods, William Madden, Conor Flynn, Aidan Keane (0-1), Denis Kennelly, Tom Keane, John Jack Mulvihill, Diarmuid Leahy, Timmy Kennelly, Damien O’ Flynn (0-1), James Flavin, Kevin Kennelly (0-1), Jackie Mulvihill, Ian McCarthy (0-2).  Subs: Patrick Finucane for Conor Flynn, Cathal O’ Connor (0-1) for Timmy Kennelly, Mossy Mulvihill for Damien O’ Flynn, Martin Sheehy for Kevin Kennelly, James Noonan for Jackie Mulvihill.
Fixtures: Moyvane Seniors are in a play off with Listowel Emmets to qualify for the semi final of the North Kerry League Div 1. The game will be played in Duagh on Thursday, April 15th at 7pm. They are at home to Listry in Round 2 of the County League on Saturday, April 17th at 7pm. The Juniors are away to Beale in Division 3 of the North Kerry League on Tuesday, April 20th at 7pm.
Senior Scór: Anyone who has All Ireland Tickets ordered from Scór Officer Elaine Scarlett (087-2884869) are asked to collect them before Saturday, April 17th.  The tickets cost €22.
Vodafone: With Vodafone you can now help to support your club at no extra cost to your phone bill.  All Vodafone Ireland customers can sign up to Vodafone Support Your GAA Club and they will donate 5% of your Pay Monthly bill or Top Up to the local GAA club – At No Extra Cost to the customer.  Anyone interested in signing up for this offer can contact any member of the Club Committee for more details or simply go online and sign up at 
Lotto: There was no winner of this weeks Jackpot of €5,000.  Numbers drawn were 4  17  24  28.  Lucky Dips of €40 each, Fintan McEnery, Moyvane, Mike O’Connor, Athea, Micheal Cahill, Gerard Flavin, Doonard Cres, Tarbert, Timmy Kennelly, Leitrim Middle.  Next weeks Jackpot is €5,200 and the draw will take place in Mairead’s Bar.
Quiz Night: The Moyvane-Clounmacon Ladie’s Football team will hold a fund raising quiz night in Brosnan’s Bar on Friday, April 16th at 9:30pm.  A great night’s entertainment is guaranteed so please come along and support them.  

Knockanure GAA:
Last week’s Lotto Results: Numbers drawn were 6   12   17   25. There was no Jackpot winner. Lucky Dips: €25 each  Patricia & M Lynch, Moyvane. Matt Quilter, Duagh. Tim Murphy, Templeglantine. Ann Brennan, Listowel. Betty Newman, Knockanure. Henry Finucane, Knockanure. Bar Prize: Mary Barry. Next week’s Jackpot: €3,100. On Friday, April 9, Knockanure lost to Brosna. The score was 3-07 to1-10. Team and scorers were: Noel Quinn, Paddy Greaney, Conor Leahy, Paudie Shanahan, Kevin Stack, Thady Finucane, Niall Sheehan, Kieran Kennelly 0-2, Martin Sheehy 1-1, D.J. Keane   0-2, Kieran Lane, Johnny Greaney 0-3, Liam Kennelly 0-2. On Friday, April 16 Knockanure play Clounmacon in Moyvane at 7 o’clock. All players are asked to attend. 

Senior Badminton:
On Thursday, our Division 5 Ladies and Men played County (Tralee). The Ladies won by the narrow margin of 4 aces. By winning all of their previous games they have now qualified for the Final against Listowel to be played in Ballyheigue on Tuesday night at 8pm. The team was Olive Keane, Edel Normoyle, Eileen McCarthy and Eileen Roche. The men won 3-1 and they will play Killarney in the Final also on Tuesday at the same venue. The Men’s team was Paul Kennelly, Timmy Hanrahan, Oliver Carmody and Timmy Larkin.
The Mixed Doubles Championships were played in Killarney on Friday night and winners of Division 5 were Eileen McCarthy and Timmy Hanrahan, the Plate was won by Bridget McCarthy and Paul Kennelly. Michael Corridan playing with Mary O’Brien, Sneem won the Division 3 Plate.
Elaine Hudson was a finalist at the Munster Division 4 Singles Championships in UL on Sunday. What a year she is having, well done Elaine.
The first of the Mixed League finals will be played on Wednesday night and will see Moyvane Division 4s play County in the Community Centre, Castleisland at 8 pm. Also on Wednesday night the Moyvane Division 5s will play their final against Killarney in Listowel at 8pm. Tuesday April 20 will see Moyvane Division 3 team take on Listowel in Ballyheigue at 8pm. This is their third year in a row taking on Listowel. It’s the first time three Moyvane teams contest the League finals and we wish them the very best of luck. 

Abbeyfeale Rag Meeting:
The Abbeyfeale rag meeting, held each year at the Dromtrasna Grounds, takes place on Sunday, April 18th with the first race starting at 10.30 sharp. The Stakes are as follows: Surrounding Parishes Stake, Dromtrasna Stake, Open Bitch Stake, The Con Murphy Memorial Local Stake, The Martin Broderick Memorial Consolation Stake. Entries to James on 087 9439499. There will also be the usual Terrier Race and other Novelty events on the day. This year there will be a very special guest –‘Captain Drew’ the local TA Morris Stake winner from Clonmel will be on parade. There will be a raffle for a top prize of €300 and tickets are on sale locally at €5 each. 

Car Boot Sale:
The monthly fundraising Car Boot Sale and Indoor Market in aid of WL102fm will be held in the Community Centre, Newcastlewest (beside the GAA pitch) on Sunday next, April 18th. Gates open 7.30am.  Sale 9am-2pm.  Further information 087 6866450.


  • Weds. 14th, Moyvane – For the People of the Parish
  • Thurs. 15th, Moyvane, 9.15am – Bridget & Bernard Shiels
  • Fri. 16th, Moyvane, 8pm – Margaret Sheehy
  • Sat. 17th, Moyvane, 8pm – John Shanahan
  • Sun. 18th, Knockanure, 10am – Nora Kelly (nee Kennelly)
  • Sun. 18th, Moyvane, 11am – Dawn Murphy
NOTE: Confirmation also takes place in Moyvane at 2pm on Thursday, 15th.