Moyvane Notes – 13th May, 2000

THE local agent for the landlord was Thomas Willie Sandes. He was an agent for a number of absentee landlords in days gone by. He regularly increased his tenants’ rents and evicted a number of them which led to the boycotting of these farms. Sandes found it impossible to replace those evicted, or to get farm-labourers to work on the farms, but he still continued to exact exorbitant rents. John Dillon of the Land League, led a group of tenants to the Sandes estate in 1886, to deal with problems. Tenants wanted to pay the landlord a fair rent not the high rents which were already placed on them. If this was refused, the rents would be used to support evicted tenants. Evictions were with boycotts, intimidations, and violence. This eventually caused other landlords in the area to reduce their rents. Attempts were made to change the name of the parish from Newtownsandes to Newtown Dillon, but the name did not catch on.

Through a series of land acts, passed between the late 1880’s and 1900’s landlordism was abolished and the people were now for the first time in may years owners rather than mere occupiers of the land. In 1916, further attempts were made to rename the village Newtown Clarke, after the executed 1916 Republican leader Thomas Clarke but this was unsuccessful. Finally in the year 1939, the village was renamed Moyvane and today more than a half a century later the name Moyvane does not legally exist.

In the grounds of the presbytery is the ruin of the former Moyvane Church, built in 1837. This was still in use up to the late 1950’s, to this day there is still one wall still intact. Some of its stone was used in the foundation of the new Knockanure Church.

The A.G.M. of the Moyvane Fianna Fail took place on Friday night 28 in the Marian Hall. The meeting was very well attended and public representatives were in attendance. A lot of discussion took place. Officers elected were: President: Tom McCarthy; chairman: Mike Greaney; vice chair: Tom Foley; secretary: Teddy Keane; treasurers: Eileen Scanlon, Angela Kearney. Delegates: Mike Culhane, Timmy Scanlon. Youth delegates: Lisa Greaney, Denis Scanlon, Marguerite Greaney.

Marian Hall Blotto results: Annette Foley, Ahalahana, £5,400. The winning numbers were: 5, 8, 12 and 17. There were eleven match threes this week and they each won £20. Martina O’Connor, Kilcolman, Asdee; Dan Culhane c/o Eamon Stack; Maureen Griffin, 34 Ballygologue Park, Listowel; Edward Fitzmaurice, Leitrim Middle; Eileen O’Donoghue, Bedford, Listowel; Elaine Stack, Lixnaw; Helen Greaney, Keylod; Sean Leahy, 11 Willowbrook, Clieveragh, Listowel, Brian Mulvihill, Glenalappa; Joan Brennan, Tarbert and James Beaton, Ahalahana. Lucky dips: £10 each; Iain Kennelly, Leitrim Middle, William Hudson, Kilbaha, Kathleen Shanahan, Kilbaha, Ciaran O’Coileain, c/o Sheehy’s, Leitrim Middle and Ned Joe Kennelly, Kilteen, Lisselton. Free tickets: Josephine Moloney, Moyvane; Aisling O’Carroll, Aughrim; Mike Mulvihill, Lr. Aughrim; Michael O’Flaherty, Moher and Joseph Broderick, Clonmel. Last Thursday night’s jackpot started at £1,000 and there was no winner. The winning numbers were: 2, 14, 16 and 22. Match three numbers: £20 each, Don Shine, Glin Road; Pat Kennelly, Knockanure; Edward O’Connor, Lower Aughrim; Brian Mulvihill, Glenalappa and Nigel Kelly, c/o Mike Brosnan, Moyvane Village. Lucky dips £10 each: Bridie Moloney, Leitrim Middle; Donncha Moloney, Moyvane North; Kathleen Dee, Ballahadigue, Listowel; Sean Stack, Tarbert and Maureen O’Carroll, Lr. Aughrim. Free tickets: John Barry, Knockanure; Jim Moody, Glenalappa; Esther O’Flaherty, Tubbertoureen; Dick Cunningham, Kilbaha and Carmel Fitzmaurice Leitrim Middle. This Thursday night’s jackpot will be £1,100.

Moyvane 2000 is now at the halfway stage with the fifth draw having been held last Saturday night. Eileen and Tom Roche, Glin Road, Moyvane won the first prize of £5,000. £500 each went to Hughie Fitzmaurice, Leitrim Middle and O.G.Byrne, 38 Uverdale Road, Chelsea, London. £100 each: Katie Wallace, Tullyleague Upper Glin; Dr. John McGuire, Listowel; Kieran Sheahan, 5 Chapelclose, Newcastlewest; Breda Mulvihill, Glenalappa; Eddie Bowler, Moyvane North; Micheal J. Enright, Moyvane Village; Tom Broderick, 150 Whitmore Road, Harrow, Middlesex; Con Scanlon, 71 Deerpark, Ashbourne, Co. Meath; Margaret Cotter, Abbeyfeale Road, Athea and Tommy and Ita Greaney, Glin Road, Athea. The next draw will be held on June 3 and first prize will be a VW Polo.