Moyvane Notes – 16th December, 2000

IN the plebiscite held in the locality last week to have “Newtownsandes” replaced by “Moyvane” in the Register of Electors, a massive number of people voted “Yes” to have the name Newtownsandes removed from the register and replaced by Moyvane. Four hundred and seventy voted “Yes”, sixty six voted “No”. The plebiscite has created huge media interest.

Mossie Mulvihill, who was injured in Sunday’s semi final at Tarbert, is not as badly injured as first thought, and could be able to attend next Sunday’s replay.

Blotto: there was no winner of the £4,000 jackpot in last Thursday night’s draw. The winning numbers were 8-20-22-23. There were three match threes and they won £35 each: Michael Collins, Glin road, Moyvane, Nora Brosnan, Barragougeen, Moyvane and Martin and Jack Madden, Blossom Hill, Rathkeale. Lucky Dips: £10 each to Sean, B. J and Gerard O’Connor, Inchamore; Jacinta Toomey, 3 Dirha Cottages, Listowel; Eileen Healy, Clountubrid, Listowel; Brendan and james, C/o Bobby Stack, Church Road, Moyvane and Margaret Breen, Lenamore, Ballylongford. Free tickets for next draw; J. Woods, C/o Brosnan’s Bar, Moyvane; Colm Leahy, Upper Athea, Co. Lilmerick; Elizabeth Moody, 23 Woodgrove, Moyvane, Bernadette O’Connor, Main Street, Ballyduff and Bridie Shine, Glin Road, Moyvane. This Thursday night’s Jackpot will be £4,100.

Last Thursday night saw one of the biggest crowds ever at Bingo. Doreen O’Flaherty, Moher, Moyvane, who won an olive wood crib, which came from Bethlehem. This week we have another crib from Bethlehem as a raffle prize. Margaret O’Donoghue, Listowel, winner of the Golden Line gave a fabulous hamper as a raffle prize. Mary Curtin, Listowel was the lucky winner.

The first matches of the league have been played in the past week. Three teams were involved and the results are encouraging.

The Division 3A team played County “B” away and defeated them 7-0. The team was Brid Ahern, Nora Conyard, Siobhan Hogan, Noelle Lanigan, Kevin Stack, Michael O’Connor and Pat Higgins.

The Division three B’s played County “A” at home and enjoyed a 4-3 win. This team was Carmel Collins, Jeanelle Griffin, Julie Fitzmaurice, Betty Lane, Brian Keane, Mike Corridan and Ollie Conyard.

The Division two team played Killarney away and as there was insufficient number of Division two players, some division 3’s had to play up. There are very happy with 5-2 defeat by a very experienced Killarney team.

The team: Eileen Nolan, Nora Conyard, Siobhan Hogan, John (Jack) Mulvihill, Gerard Flaherty, William Flaherty and Michael O’Connor.