Moyvane Notes – 17th January, 2012

Marian Hall Blotto:
There was no winner of last Thursday night’s draw so the €6,000 Jackpot still stands. Numbers drawn were: 7   8   14   31. Lucky Dips: €100 Nell Ahern, Leitrim Middle. €50 James Carmody, Ballybunion. €20 each: Margaret Shine, Moyvane Village. Eileen Hannon, Willowbrook, Clieveragh, Listowel. Joan Kennelly, Kilmorna. Noreen O’Connell, Ahalahana. Rita Thornton, Listowel. Free Tickets: Nell Ahern, Leitrim Middle. Marie & Joe Lynch, Woodgrove. Mary Hanrahan, All Star Bar. Mike Joe Cronin, Mail Road Cross. Con Fitzgerald, c/o Marie Wrenn, Athea. Next draw this Thursday night, January 19th at Bingo in the Marian Hall.

Garda Station Closure:
By the time you read this a meeting will have been held to discuss the proposed closure of the local station. I hope you have shown your support for the retention of the station by either signing the petition or attending the meeting. When there was no crime in this country we had three Gardai in Moyvane, checking on dog licences and bicycle lights. Well, times have changed dramatically, crime has become a way of life for some and respect for other people and their property is not a priority. There is vandalism in every town and village and without a Garda presence this will continue to be a problem. Every morning we hear of someone being assaulted somewhere in this country. We always say this could never happen in our village but we all know that what happens in cities later moves to towns and villages. We need a Garda like never before so let’s all get together and support the petition.

Moyvane GAA:
The AGM of Moyvane GAA was held in the Marian Hall on Friday, January 13th and was well attended. The executive committee were re-elected. Officers for 2012 are as follows:
  • President – Jerry Brosnan
  • Vice Presidents – Paudie Hanrahan, Liam Hanrahan, Stevie Stack, John C. Cunningham, Eddie Stack, Fr. Lucid
  • Chairman – Johnny Stack
  • Vice Chairman – Mike Brosnan
  • Secretary – Micheal Walsh
  • Assistant Secretary/PRO – Aine Cronin
  • Treasurer – Martin Kennelly
  • Assistant Treasurers – Gerry Mullin, Teddy Keane
  • Children’s Officer – Paddy Leahy
  • Coaching Officer – Kieran Stack
  • Scor Officer – Elaine Foley
  • County Board Delegate – Eddie Joe Mulvihill
  • North Kerry Board Delegates – Michael Walsh, Aine Cronin
Team Management for 2012:
  • Senior Manager – James Fleming
  • Juniors Manager – Maurice Kearney
  • U21 Manager – Jackie Mulvihill
  • Minors Manager – Eamon Sweeney
  • Senior Captain –  Conor O’Flynn
  • Vice Captain –  Sean Lynch
  • Junior Captain – TBC
  • U21 Captain – TBC
  • Minor Captain – Will rotate during the year. 

Membership: Club membership is now open at €40 for players and €20 for non-players. Membership can be paid to any committee member. Membership will close for 2012 on Friday, March 23rd, as members must be officially registered with Croke Park.
Coiste na nOg AGM: The AGM of Moyvane Coiste na nOg will be held in the Marian Hall on Friday, January 20th at 8pm sharp. All officers and mentors are asked to attend. The meeting is open to anyone who is interested in getting involved with the club.

Lotto: There was no winner of this weeks Jackpot of €5,200.  Numbers drawn were 3, 15, 16 and 19. Lucky Dips of €40 each: Niamh McCarthy, Clounmacon, Dan & Brid Flavin, Aughrim, Paudie Hanrahan, Kilbaha, Bernie Broderick, Duagh and Peter Shepherd, Asdee.  Next week’s Jackpot is €5,400 and the draw will be held in Speedy’s Bar on Sunday, January 22nd at 10pm.
Scór Sinsear Chiarraí Thuaidh Finals: The North Kerry Final of Senior Scór will take place at the Community Centre Asdee on Saturday January 28th commencing at 7pm sharp.

Senior Badminton:
Congratulations to the Division 3 ladies team on winning the Final in Tralee on Wednesday last. The team was Carmel Hudson, Jeanelle Griffin, Saorcha Fitzgerald and Elaine Hudson. The Listowel Invitation Tournament was held at the weekend, Saorcha Fitzgerald won the Division 3 competition. Eileen Roche was finalist in the Vets. Division 5 men’s plate was won by Oliver Carmody. Suzanne Keane was finalist Division 5 plate. Timmy Larkin reached the Division 5 men’s final, Louise Behan the ladies final, Division 4 and Celia O’Grady, the final of Division 5.

Kerry Turfcutters:
Kerry Turfcutters & contractors association will hold a public meeting in The Three Mermaids in Listowel on this Friday night January 20th starting at 9pm sharp to discuss letters of eviction that members have received. SAC’s will also be discussed on the night so it is in your interest to attend.

Singing Classes:
Priscilla Donovan is starting a new group class for beginning students of Primary School age on January 17th, 2012 from 4pm to 4:45 pm in Tarbert. Call 087-760-5551 for information or to register.

  • Weds. 18th, Moyvane, 9.15am – Private Intention
  • Thurs. 19th, Moyvane, 9.15am – Private Intention
  • Fri. 20th, Moyvane, 7.30pm – Ned O’Flaherty
  • Sat. 21st, Moyvane, 7.30pm – Bill, Paddy & Mary Horan
  • Sun. 22nd, Knockanure, 10am
  • Sun. 22nd, Moyvane, 11am – Con Shine, Month’s Mind