Moyvane Notes – 20th January, 2001

THE Newtownsandes Co-op Sponsored Moyvane Senior Badminton Tournament was held in the Community Centre on Sunday last, 100 players representing all clubs in the County participated. Results were: Division two: Mail Road Garden Centre Trophy, winners: Ursula O’Sullivan, Cherciveen and Tom McElligott, Listowel; runners-up: Eileen Nolan, Moyvane and Paudie O’Shea, Caherciveen; Division Three: Eileen Mulvihill Memorial Shield: Winners: Marie O’Connor County and Ml O’Connor, Moyvane; runner-up: Julie Fitzmaurice, Moyvane and Tom Bradley Kingdom; Division four: Eileen and Tom Roche, Trophy; winners: Brid Murphy Kingdom and Donnacha Moloney Moyvane; runner-up Siobhan Flynn Moyvane and Chris Ahern County; Division five: Betty and Sean O’Connor Trophy: Winners: Catherine Connor Kingdom and Andrew McCarthy, Caherciveen. runner-up Meave Cournane, Caherciveen and Patrick Curran, Dingle. Raffle: Whiskey, Olive Keane, Moyvane; Wine: Noelle Lanigan, Moyvane; Wine glasses: Mary Jane Reidy, Ballyheigue; chocolates: Eugene O’Connor, Dingle; Sweets: Richard Prendiville, Listowel.

Newtownsandes Co-Op has sponsored trophies as have Kerry Spring and Golden Vale.

Congratulations to Tommy Barrett, Mossy Mulvihill and Eddie Bowler on winning their places on the team of the North Kerry championship for the year 2000. Their brilliant displays throughout the campaign were noticed and their reward was very well merited. They were presented with their trophies at a excellent function held in the Lanterns on Friday night last.

The AGM of the Moyvane GAA will take place on Friday night, January 26 at the Marian Hall at 8.30 p.m. sharp. There are hopes that new members will come and join up.

Moyvane GAA will hold their annual social in the Lanterns, on Friday night February 9.