Moyvane Notes – 8th April, 2000

Moyvane/Yaley Trout Anglers – The following committee was elected at the A.G.M. on March 20. Chairman – Seamus Roche; treasurer – Willie Buckley; secretary – Eamon Cotter; asst. secretary – Jackie Walsh. Please note current year membership cards are now available from any of the committee members, the annual subscription being senior £7 and junior £3.

West Limerick set-dancing club set Céil’ in Convent Hall, Abbeyfeale, Sunday April 9 at 4pm. Music by the Glenside Céil’ Band. All sets called.

Moyvane Golf Society outing to Charleville Golf Club on Sunday April 9. Tee time 12 noon. Everyone welcome. Prizes galore. Sponsored by Brenda Brosnan.

There was no winner of the £5,000 jackpot in last Thursday night’s draw. The winning numbers were: 2, 6, 7 and 16. There were eight match threes and they won £20 each: Noreen Nolan, Murhur; Jack Mulvihill, Woodgrove; Elaine Moloney, Moyvane Village; Brendan Flynn, c/o Eamon Stack; Liam Hanrahan, Lr. Aughrim; Richard G. Horgan, Kilmeaney, Kilmorna; Linda Curtin, Lr. Aughrim and Dermot Keane, Murhur. Lucky Dips: £10 each Patsy and Josephine Broderick, Gortdromagouna, Eamon Honan, Lixnaw, Patricia Leahy and Ringo, Clounbrane, Edel and John Quinn, Woodgrove and the Leahy Brothers, Church Road. Free tickets: Kay Mulvihill, Moyvane, Denise Finucane, Church St., Tarbert, Jacinta Toomey, Dirha, Listowel, Jim Moody, Glenalappa and Mike Mulvihill, Ballinoe. This Thursday night’s draw will be held at bingo in the Marian Hall and the jackpot will be £5,100.

Moyvane 2000 April draw was held in The Marian Hall last Saturday night, April 1: Congratulations to Joe Martin Ballyguiltenane, Glin who won first prize. Joe has a choice of the car of the year, the Toyota Yaris or £8,000. £500 each: Robert Nolan, Carrueragh and Nuala Fitzpatrick (Brats), Bank of Ireland, Eyre Square, Galway. £100 each: John Nolan, Cahirdown, Listowel; Patrick Mullane, Tarmons East, Bernadette O’Sullivan, Lenamore, Ballylongford, Anne Finucane, Keylod, Patrick Galvin, Leitrim East, Patsy Sheehy, Aughrim, Geraldine Behan, Lisselton, Bridget Neville, Church Road and Eileen Wallace, Ballyguiltenane, Glin. The next draw will be held on Saturday May 6 and first prize will be £5,000.

The U/13 basketball team for the games held in Listowel last weekend were Katie Galvin, Regina Galvin, Fiona Mullin, Marion O’Sullivan, Emer Prendiville, Cara Galvin, Louise Behan, Michelle Roche, Jackie Vaughan, Aisling Fitzmaurice. The next event in community games is girls and boys U/13 indoor soccer. On April 14 at 6.30 in Listowel Community Centre, the girls indoor soccer will be held. The boys indoor soccer will be held in Listowel on April 24 at 10am. The panel consist of seven players, teams of five plus two subs. The cross county will be held in Farranfore on Sunday April 16 at 2.30pm, U/13 distance is 1,200m and the first five boys and five girls past the post will represent the county in Mosney in May. There is also a cross county mixed distance relay races boys over 10 and U/12 600m and 400m, girls over 12 and U/14 800m and 600m boys over 12 and U/14 800m and 600m. County team of four panel of six will represent county in Mosney in May. Children wishing to take part in cross county should be in the Sport’s Field on Tuesday and Thursday evening at 7.30 for training.

Moyvane badminton players were on all three winning North Kerry teams taking part in the inter-divisional in Tralee on Sunday. Division 5 – Eileen Roche, Caroline Warrilow, Pat Walsh and Joseph Curtin. Division 4: Olive Keane and Donnacha Moloney. Division 3: Julie Fitzmaurice, Jeanelle Griffin, Mairead Sheehan, Kevin Stack and Pat Higgins. Congratulations to all players.

Club members are reminded that the end of season club tournament will be held on Wednesday, April 12 at 9pm sharp.