Moyvane Notes – 8th February, 2003

A IFA meeting to discuss the proposal to designate Mountvenla and Bunradee Bogs as special areas of conservation will be held this Friday at 8.30pm in the Marian Hall. All interested parties should attend.

Best wishes to Sharon Buckley who will be travelling with the Comhaltas Ceoltoiri na hEireann group on their tour of Britain for the next two weeks.

Congratulations to Tara Mulvihill who got first place in the U/18 Irish and English at the Ceol an Gheimhridh held in Lixnaw recently. Congratulations also to the U/14’s who took first place in the mixed set.

The smash hit play “Bawdy and Soul” will be staged in St. Michael’s College, Listowel this Thursday at 8pm. Admission E10. Donation to Kerry Hospice from proceeds.

In senior badminton, congratulations to John M. Mulvihill on winning the division three singles championship in Tralee recently. Tony Barry was a semi-finalist.

Next Tuesday, February has been designated as World Day of the Sick and is also the Feast of Our Lady of Lourdes. To celebrate the occasion, a prayer service and anointing of the sick will take place in the Marian Hall this Sunday at 2.30. On this afternoon, the Wren Boys will present their contribution to the radio link project. They will provide entertainment for the after. Refreshments will be served. All are welcome.

The death has taken place of Sr. Peter Hudson Mercy Convent, Listowel and formerly of Kilbaha. Sr. Peter was highly respected having been Matron of Listowel District Hospital for many years. She was in her early eighties. Sympathy is extended to the bereaved family.

The AGM of the Moyvane GAA club took place on Friday night last in the Marian Hall.

We had good attendance and got through a lot of work. Officers elected: President – Gerry Brosnan. Vice presidents – Paudie Hanrahan, Eddie Stack, Stevie Stack, Fr. Fleming, Fr. Flaherty, Liam Hanrahan, Con Shine, John Chris Cunningham. Chairman – Paddy Mulvihill; vice chairman – Thomas Keane; secretary – Teddy Keane; Assistant secretary – Michael Walsh. Treasurers – Martin Kennelly, Eddie Joe Mulvihill; P.R.O – Teddy Keane. County Board delegate – Eddie Joe Mulvihill. North Kerry Board delegates – Tomas Keane, Michael Walsh and Tom Sheehy.

A meeting of the club will take place on Monday night at 8pm to finalise a few outstanding issues.

Coaching – A meeting with Pat O’Shea will take place on Monday night at 8pm. Anybody interested in getting involved we would be delighted to see them.